The Complete Call the Midwife Stories Jennifer Worth 4 Books Collection Collector's Gift-Edition (Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End, Call the Midwife, Letters to the Midwife)

FREE Shipping

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories Jennifer Worth 4 Books Collection Collector's Gift-Edition (Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End, Call the Midwife, Letters to the Midwife)

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories Jennifer Worth 4 Books Collection Collector's Gift-Edition (Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End, Call the Midwife, Letters to the Midwife)

RRP: £35.96
Price: £17.98
£17.98 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods


Worth wrote the first volume of her memoirs by hand and sent them to Coates to read, and Coates later served as advisor on the books and the TV adaptation. This final book in Jennifer Worth's trilogy shares her last memories from her time as a midwife in London's East End and brings her story full circle. If a refund is payable to you we will process the refund as soon as possible, and, in any case within fourteen (14) days. Some of the stories I could really relate to, as my birth year is not so far from some of periods described in the book.

The conditions in which many women gave birth just half a century ago were horrifying, not only because of their grimly impoverished surroundings, but also because of what they were expected to endure. Bibliophiles who enjoyed The Midwife Trilogy penned by Jennifer Worth also greatly enjoyed the following suchlike books. Reissued in 2007, it became a bestseller, as did the sequel Shadows of the Workhouse (2005, reissued 2008) and the final volume Farewell to the East End (2009). These stories give a fascinating insight into the resilience and spirit that enabled ordinary people to overcome their difficulties. I felt most poignantly the moments when: Frank and Peggy were separated without warning, when she held the banisters and cried all day until she fell asleep from exhaustion and the moment; when a destitute and hopeless Mrs.Cotterill's book was originally published by the Black Country Society in 1973 under the title "A Black Country Nurse at Large". We also get to meet those the majority of us have not heard enough of but who worked tirelessly to ensure the changing tides of time did not drown the disadvantaged. The books in The Midwife Trilogy–namely The Midwife, Shadows of the Workhouse, and the third book in her trilogy–are the three best books authored by Jennifer Worth.

She unabashedly inhabits a space of contrasts, giving her life to a cause and force greater than herself and yet thinking nothing of hundreds spent in her taxi cab indulgence.

In this book, she describes the harsh conditions of the original Workhouses and gives the history of two women who were badly affected. It is the mark of a great author to convey, discuss, and opine exclusive of partiality highly complex topics such as the ones Jennifer deals with in the books. Worth’s memoir of her early years at Nonnatus House is alternately heartwarming and heart–wrenching and the stories she shares will fascinate anyone who enjoys a good yarn—but especially anyone who has ever had or plans to have a child. On 23 November 2016, the BBC announced a three-year deal with Neal Street Productions, commissioning a seventh, eighth, and ninth series, each with a Christmas special. Perhaps that is the beauty of life: that every man will not be able to understand his neighbour’s or even partner’s choices but will continue to live in harmony or conflict.

The Wall Street Journal declared that "this immensely absorbing drama is worth any trouble it takes to catch up with its singular pleasures", [47] while The Washington Post stated that "the cast is marvelous, the gritty, post-war set pieces are meticulously recreated". Reading the essays on death, stroke, open heart resuscitation, and cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) ought to be studied (and not just read) so medicine is able to consider quality of life in addition to saving a life.The Author (Goodreads): [Jennifer] Worth, born Jennifer Lee while her parents were on holiday in Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, was raised in Amersham, Buckinghamshire. It provides a fascinating snapshot of social history, documenting the East End in the days when there was a real sense of community, when times were tough but there was plenty of good humour and neighbourly support to help the inhabitants through the harsh econonic climate. The autumn 2012 PBS broadcast of the first series received widespread critical acclaim, earning a Metacritic score of 8.

As always there are heartbreaking stories such as the family devastated by tuberculosis and a ship's woman who 'serviced' the entire crew, as well as plenty of humour and warmth, such as the tale of two women who shared the same husband! There's a World of books to choose from such as: Children's Books, Range includes Baby Books (0-3), Books for Toddlers (3-5), Early Readers (5-7), Childrens Story books (7-11), Young Teens (11-14), Young Adults (14-16) and Childrens Educational Books.According to the World Health Organisation, nurses and midwives account for nearly 50 per cent of the global health force so if you know someone who practices as a midwife or if you yourself were supported during childbirth, make sure to share a heartfelt thank you for all the work they do. Our mission is to help you discover and enjoy great literature, and we take pride in offering a carefully curated selection of titles from classic literature to the latest bestsellers.

  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns


Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop